Bake Share v2.0 week 2 and my new summer breakfast!

Just pulled 2 batches of Sheinola out of the oven, and I think I’m finally good for this week. This marks the halfway point of Bake Share v2.0! Offered last week: chocolate hazelnut biscotti, peanut butter maple cookies, triple sugar cookies, banana chocolate treats. Photos:

And, now for a semi-recipe post! It’s almost the official start of summer, and the warmer weather has me wanting something a bit more cooling than steel cut oats for breakfast. And this morning, I think I finally have it! Here it is:

I’ve had chia seeds in my pantry for a long time (some left behind by a former roommate, some I had bought after reading Born to Run). Yes, chia, like chia pets. They are an Aztec superfood and supposed to be incredibly good for you. The neat thing with chia seeds is that by themselves, they don’t taste like much and are just little seeds, but if you soak them in liquid, they plump up, akin to tapioca. Almost like a healthier bubble tea (okay, who am I fooling 😉 ). I initially couldn’t find a way that I really enjoyed them, but I found this recipe, modified with what I had in my kitchen, and it was lovely (not to mention incredibly easy). This was also great because I finally had muesli I enjoyed when I was in DC two weeks ago, and now I’ve combined the two! Here is what I did:

Overnight chia-muesli bowl!
Serves 1
adapted from Choosing Raw

1/3 cup rolled oats
1 cup soymilk
3 tbsp chia seeds
1 tsp vanilla extract
berries (I used blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries)

Combine the rolled oats, soymilk, chia seeds, and vanilla extract in a bowl. Refrigerate overnight. Roll out of bed, marvel at the plumping up of chia seeds, top with berries, and enjoy. Easy peasy! Protip: for something a bit more indulgent, I imagine this would be delicious with chocolate chips…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

