Coconut ginger curry

I’ve had a good cooking week! For a while there, I found myself cooking the same things over and over again, but I’ve lately started to branch out and bookmark interesting recipes in blogs/cookbooks. My current favorite source is Heidi Swanson’s 101 Cookbooks; her recipes are simple, natural, and healthy. I don’t have either of her cookbooks, but am sorely tempted!

On Tuesday, I made a slightly modified version of the coconut red lentil soup posted on her blog, using the stuff I had in my pantry. Super delicious, and super easy! For me, the kicker is the raisins, plumped up in the curried coconut-ginger sauce. My concoction was really thick (I think due to the full-fat coconut milk, and I say don’t skimp on that because it is lovely!), so I call it a curry rather than a soup. I’ve been eating it with brown rice and greens all week. Here’s what I did:

Coconut ginger curry
Serves 6-8
adapted from 101 Cookbooks

1 cup red lentils
1 cup green split peas
7 cups water
3 medium carrots, diced
2 medium yellow onions, diced
2 tablespoons fresh ginger, peeled and minced
2 tablespoons curry powder
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/3 cup Thompson raisins
1/3 cup tomato paste
1 can whole coconut milk
2 teaspoons salt

Place lentils, split peas, and water in a heavy bottomed pot. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to a simmer, and add the carrots and 1/4 of the ginger. Cover and simmer until peas/lentils are soft, about 30 minutes.

In the meantime, toast the curry powder in a pan over low heat. Be careful to not burn the curry powder! Transfer the toasted curry powder to a small bowl, then saute the onions in olive oil over medium heat until onions are soft, about 5 minutes. Add the remaining ginger and raisins, saute for 2 minutes. Add the tomato paste and saute for 1-2 minutes more.

Add the toasted curry powder, mix well, and then add all of this to the lentils/split peas, along with the coconut milk and salt. Simmer, uncovered, for about 20 minutes. You can play around with the consistency by adding more water or simmering for a longer time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

