My breakfast trick

This is not really a recipe, more of a useful trick I employ on weekdays.

I love steel-cut oatmeal. For some reason, “regular” rolled oats just don’t quite do it for me (though I do love them in Sheinola or cookies!). The problem is, steel-cut oatmeal takes a long time to make, a good 35-40 minutes. It’s not difficult, bringing a 4:1 water:oats proportion to a boil then letting simmer, but for optimal results, you do have to stir fairly frequently to avoid sticking and crusting at the bottom of the pot. So, I initially left steel-cut oatmeal to a lazy weekend morning treat. While leftovers could keep in the fridge for a couple of days, they just weren’t quite as good.

But then, I noticed that Trader Joe’s started selling frozen steel-cut oatmeal. Ingenious! Then, I realized…if they can do it, why can’t I? So, I now make a large batch of steel-cut oatmeal on the weekend, eat a bowl’s worth, and freeze the rest in a silicone muffin tin. Once frozen, I pop the portioned oatmeal out and store in a freezer ziploc bag, like so:

It works beautifully. On weekdays, I just microwave a couple of the muffin-sized oatmeal portions for 2-3 minutes, and ta da! “Instant” steel-cut oats. Texture is still not quite as good as a freshly made batch, but better than fridge leftovers and much better than those just-add-hot-water instant oatmeals.

Obviously, you can enjoy your oatmeal however you like, with brown sugar and/or fresh fruit, dried fruit, nuts, milk, etc. I personally love steel-cut oatmeal with a spoon of almond butter, sliced banana, and almond or soy milk. So yum!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My breakfast trick

  1. Amicky says:

    Another option is to soak the steel cut oatmeal in water, and leave it overnight covered in the pan it will be cooked in. I leave it on the stove so when the morning rush begins, I just turn it on and it is cooked half the time. (Actually, less since it is usually done 5-10 min after it boils.) Not as fast as microwaving the frozen ones but I’m never successful cooking big batches, freezing and thawing.

  2. Pingback: Hurricane Irene | Sheinola

Leave a Reply

