A homemade nutella nightmare

On Friday, after nearly a week of strong hinting from my housemate, I made homemade nutella.  At first, I resisted due to trying to have a relatively sugar-free week (as the week before was a disaster with cupcakes routinely before noon, oops), but I found myself with a bag of dark chocolate covered pretzels from Trader Joe’s on Thursday…so, so much for that.

I started with David Lebovitz’s recipe but slightly altered to make it cow-based dairy-free.  I also reduced the honey–I was tempted to not add any, but was afraid with only dark chocolate, the spread might be bitter.  Note: it wasn’t.  Next time, I probably won’t add any honey.

The process?  Surprisingly painful.  Yes, painFUL, not painless.  My food processor decided to be finicky, which next resulted in a panic session then some tricky switching between a personal blender and an immersion blender.  Chocolate and hazelnut skins and pieces everywhere, including all over yours truly, but I finally got four (one medium, three small) jars of nutella:

The review?  Delicious.  Honestly, I’ve never been a big nutella fan, but this stuff is good.  On toast, Finn crisps (my favorite crackers), banana, oatmeal, straight from the jar…yum.  I imagine a crepe filled with this and banana slices would be divine.  Oh, and a warning: I’m pretty sure homemade nutella gives you crazy dreams.  I’ve had some weird ones these last couple of nights…

Homemade nutella (I have desperately been brainstorming a Sheila-fied name, but was told that “Sheitella” sounds too much like shigella…suggestions?)
yields ~2 cups
adapted from David Lebovitz

1/3 cup whole almonds
1 1/3 cup hazelnuts
1 3/4 cup goat milk
7/8 cup powdered goat milk
1 tablespoon honey
pinch of salt
11 ounces good quality dark chocolate (I used 6 oz. bittersweet and 5 oz. semisweet)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Toast hazelnuts and almonds for 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until nuts are fragrant.  Once toasted and slightly cooled, remove hazelnut skins (probably optional).

While nuts are toasting, warm the milk, powdered milk, honey, and salt in a small saucepan just until it starts to boil.

Melt the chocolate in the microwave.

(in an ideal world where good things happen to good people) Grind the nuts in a food processor to a fine powder.

Add the melted chocolate and continue to process until smooth.  Scrape down sides as necessary.

Add the warm milk mixture and process until well-combined.

Refrigerate until ready to use.  (This is important for nutella consistency!)

Last note, for those of you in Boston, I have 3 small jars of homemade nutella that are for the taking.  Let me know 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

