Sheinola

Welcome to Sheinola: SheilaChristine’s cooking and baking blog!  In here, I’ll talk about my evolving philosophy re: food and cooking, including some of my favorite recipes along the way.

To get things started, here’s a recipe I’ve gotten multiple requests for: Sheinola (my granola).  I started tinkering with granola recipes last fall after being horribly addicted to Clover Food Truck’s granola, and while this isn’t quite it (and I’m still curious!), it’s pretty darn good.  Honestly, I like this better than all other granolas (store-bought and homemade) that I’ve tried, with the possible exception of Clover granola.  I also think this is a perfect starter recipe for rookie chefs and bakers; it’s easy and forgiving, not requiring fancy knife skills or anything of that sort.  Plus, your home will smell HEAVENLY.  Truth fact: a friend who was visiting for dinner was approaching my house as I was making granola, and he couldn’t believe that the smell that made my entire street smell insanely delicious was emitting from my house!

One last note on Sheinola: there’s a good amount of variation available.  For the nuts and seeds, I tend to use some combination of pecans, almonds, cashews, pepitas, walnuts, flaxseeds, and/or sunflowers seeds…but the sky’s the limit!  I do tend to chop the nuts (or buy baking pieces), but that’s up to you.  Also, you can sub honey or agave nectar for the maple syrup, grapeseed oil/walnut oil/etc. for the olive oil, and that will give your granola a “lighter” or “darker” flavor, if that makes sense.  So, happy tinkering and baking!

Sheinola
yields ~7 cups

3 cups rolled oats
1 cup shredded coconut
3 cups nuts and seeds
3/4 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup olive oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix rolled oats, shredded coconuts, nuts/seeds, and salt together in a large bowl.  In a different bowl, mix maple syrup, olive oil, and brown sugar (this is just so that things get mixed evenly, although I know some people who really love the nearly burnt brown sugar clumps–Auntie Mickey 🙂 ). Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, and mix well.

Bake for 50-55 minutes, stirring every 20 minutes.  When it’s done, DO NOT immediately stir and eat (trust me on this–Sheinola tastes much better cooled, and the setting will result in a nice mix of clustered and loose granola).  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sheinola

  1. Sasha says:

    Hellooo! I didn’t know that you had already started your “Sheinola” blog. I like it! This recipe reminds me of our most recent winter break. I like brown sugar clumps also. 🙂 And yes, your granola is so much better eaten after it’s already cooled, even though it is very tempting to eat it right away with that smell. You should make a perfume with that smell!

  2. Pingback: My breakfast trick | Sheinola

Leave a Reply

